SLASH / FINAL GIRL

2017 // 
Installation, 210 x 91 x 20 cm 

and 130 x 90 x 20cm
black lacquer film, hand-cut letters,

metal construction

 

booklet,Inkjet print, folded andclipped, 1st edition: 50 pcs.numbered and signed

 

// Photos: Thomas Kluckner # 1, 2 & 3

Thomas Scheid # 4, 5 ,6 & 7

The work Slash deals with Slasher films. The Slasher film is a subgenre of Horrorfilms. In the artistic work I trace the genre through the discussion with the feminist film theorie by Carol J. Clover, especially her concept and characterized term of the "Final Girl".
Slash is a two piece text installation. It consists of a lacquer foil and a metal construction. The foil has been processed by a scalpel. The used materials are shown in a setting, which changers between uncanny and fetish. The incised letters in the black lacquer film are arranged film titles of the Slasher genre.
 The text work Final Girl 1 - 10 deals specifically with the concept of the "Final Girl". In 10 experimental essays, I approach the "last girl left alive". The slasher film genre is a central theme and is interwoven with captivity reports by Joan of Arc, Mary Rowlandson and Patty Hearst, as well as the feminist film theory by Carol J. Clover.

 

The incised text of the installation reads as follows:

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

© Sarah Decristoforo 2019

  • Facebook - Grey Circle

SLASH / FINAL GIRL

// 2017

Installation

 210 x 91 x 20 cm und 130 x 90 x 20 cm 

schwarze Lackfolie, handgeschnitten, Metallkonstruktion lackiert

// Booklet, 14.8 x 21 cm

Tintenstrahldruck,

gefalten und geklammert,

1. Edition: 50 Stk.

nummeriert und signiert

 

Fotocredits: Thomas Kluckner # 1, 2 & 3

Thomas Scheid # 4, 5 ,6 & 7 

Die Arbeiten Final Girl und Slash beschäftigen sich mit dem Slasher-Film (engl. slash "aufschlitzen") –einem Subgenre des Horrorfilms. Über die Auseinandersetzung mit der feministischen Filmtheroie von Carol J. Clover und dem von Ihr geprägten Begriffen "final girl" und „female victim hero“ spühre ich in der künstlerischen Arbeit der Vermännlichung des Final Girls mit dem ansonsten üblichen männlichen Helden nach. 

Die Arbeit Slash ist eine zweiteilige Textinstallation. Sie besteht aus einer Lackfolie die mittels Skalpell bearbeitet wurde und einer Metallkonstruktion. Die verwendeten Materialien werden in einem Setting gezeigt, das zwischen Unheimlichem und Fetisch changiert . Die herausgeschnittenen Buchstaben in der schwarzen Lackfolie sind bekannte Filmtitel des Slasher-Genres, wie: Halloween, Scream, I Spit on your Grave, The Exorcist oder Carrie… 

In der künstlerischen Textarbeit Final Girl I-I0 nähere ich mich in 10 experimentellen Textstücken dem "last girl left alive" an. Der Slasher Film ist zentrales Thema und wird mit Gefangenschaftserzählungen und Berichten von Johanna von Orleon, Mary Rowlandson und Patty Hearst, sowie der feministischen Filmtheorie verwoben. Über Querverweise lassen sich zusätzliche Informationen zu den Personen und deren Berichten finden.

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

© Sarah Decristoforo 2019

  • Facebook - Grey Circle