MY INTIMATE MASH UP

// 2017

Lightobject, neontubes ø 1.2 cm, 
transformer, 1.40 x 1.10 m

 

 

MY INTIMATE MASH UP

–HEART, HORN

& DEVILS TAIL

// 2016

Editionsprint: red neon paper,

screen printing ink, folded and incised
unfolded: 28.7 x 42.0 cm
folded: 10.5 x 14.8 cm

 

// Photos: Thomas Scheid # 1

Sarah Decristoforo #2

The light signet plays with the symbolisms, metaphors and cultural references of seduction and pornography. The well-known form, consisting of a heart with devil's tail and wings is based on a discovered wall graffiti. The object consists of transparent glass tubes and glows in two different colours when switched on. The acoustic background for the light object is based on the theme titles of the films "The Exorcist" and "The Devil in Miss Jones". Rhythmic patterns were taken from the recognition melodies, superimposed and transformed into a new soundtrack by syncopated shifts.  As illuminated advertising, the object refers in an absurd and ironic way to the video work My Intimate Mash Up - Exorcycle and the text work My Intimate Mash Up - Heart, Horn & Devil ´s Tail

For the text piece, the text passages of the respective protagonists (Regan from "The Exorzist" and Justin Jones from "The Devil in Miss Jones") were chronologically transcribed and interwoven into a text collage. The result of this lacing is a pornographic, disorienting text that allows the 12-year-old Regan MacNeil and the young woman Justin Jones to enter into a kaleidoscopic dialogue with each other. 

 

The respective specific fantasies, sadomasochism in horror film and sadism in porn film, are the focus of my adaptations. Masochistic mother-daughter relationships, the rules of female decency, gender relations and explicit questions of sexual identity are thematized.


////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

© Sarah Decristoforo 2019

  • Facebook - Grey Circle

MY INTIMATE MASH UP

// 2017

Lichtobjekt mit Audio, 140 x 110 cm

Neonröhren ø 1.2 cm

 

 

MY INTIMATE MASH UP

–HEART, HORN

& DEVILS TAIL

// 2016

Publikation / Faltblatt, 10.5 x 14.8 cm

Offsetdruck, Schmuckfarbe

gefalten und eingeschnitten, num., sig.,

Auflage 120 Stk


// Fotocredits: Thomas Scheid # 1

Sarah Decristoforo #2

Das Lichtsignet spielt mit den Symboliken, Metaphern und kulturellen Verweisen der Verführung und des Pornografischen. Die bekannte Form, bestehend aus einem Herz mit Teufelsschwanz und Flügeln, wurde von einem vorgefundenen Wandgraffiti entlehnt. Das Objekt besteht aus transparenten Glasröhren und leuchtet in eingeschaltenem Zustand in zwei unterschiedlichen Farben. Die akustische Untermalung zum Lichtobjekt basiert auf den Titelmelodien  der Filme „The Exorcist“ und „The Devil in Miss Jones“. Rythmische Schema wurden den Erkennungsmelodien entnommen, übereinandergelegt und durch synkopische Verschiebungen in einen neuen Soundtrack transformiert.  Als Lichtwerbung nimmt das Objekt auf absurde und ironische Art und Weise auf die Videoarbeit My Intimate Mash Up – Exorcycle und die Textarbeit My Intimate Mash Up – Heart, Horn & Devil ´s Tail  bezug. 

Für die Textarbeit wurden aus den beiden Filmen die Textpassagen der jeweiligen Protagonistinnen (Regan aus „The Exorzist“ und Justin Jones aus „The Devil in Miss Jones“) chronologisch transkribiert und zu einer Textcollage verwoben. Durch diese Verschnürung ist ein pornographisch - desorientierender Text entstanden, der die 12-jährige Regan MacNeil und die junge Frau Justin Jones in einen kaleidoskopischen Dialog miteinander treten lässt. 

 

Die jeweils spezifischen Phantasien, der Sadomasochismus im Horror Film und der Sadismus im Pornofilm, stehen im Vordergrund meiner Bearbeitungen. Masochistische Mutter-Tochter Beziehungen, die Regeln des weiblichen Anstandes, Geschlechterrelationen und explizit Fragen der sexuellen Identität werden thematisiert.

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

© Sarah Decristoforo 2019

  • Facebook - Grey Circle